Posted in Food, Recipes

Curried Chick Peas And Tofu With Bok Choy

It was a rainy day. I was sick of looking at my computer. I went out in the gloom and rain and ran errands instead, ending up at the library with some very nice books I plan to start reading this evening.

I decided to liven things up a bit with some cooking. I had chick peas and I had tofu, among other things. I also had a recipe for curried chick peas and tofu, so it was a pretty easy decision. The hubby also picked up some bok choy, for which I had no plans, so I decided to throw that in as well.

It came out, well, swimmingly! Wonderful aromas and enticing colors, especially when served over the coconut basmati rice I made just for the occasion.

Curry Fixin's - Spices, Garlic, Onion, Tomato

I sauteed the bok choy separately, just to make more dishes to clean up.

Sauteeing the Bok Choy

In went the onions, garlic and curry, into their own pan. Occasionally interrupted my masterpiece to sip at some nicely chilled wine. Then tossed the tofu cubes, the chick peas with their cooking water, and the tomato. Very pretty, yes?

Curry is Cooking

But, wait! There’s more color to come. The bok choy was already sateed, so I slid that in and mixed it all together.

Curry With Bok Choy

What can beat that, I ask you? Just look at that. Artistry on my impatient plate:

Margy's Dinner

What, you want some too? Well, for heaven’s sake, why didn’t you say so in the first place!

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced or pressed
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • Pinch of cayenne or hot sauce (optional)
  • 1 cake tofu (3/4 lb), cut into cubes
  • 2 cups undrained cooked chick peas (16 oz can)
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • Pinch of salt, to taste
  • Chopped, fresh cilantro (optional)
  • Plain yogurt (optional)
  • Saute the onion and garlic in the oil until the onion is translucent, stirring occasionally. Stir in the cumin, coriander, turmeric, black pepper and optional cayenne. Add the cubed tofu and cook for a minute or so, stirring occasionally. Add the chick peas with about 1/2 cup of their cooking liquid. Simmer 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook another 10 minutes or so, or until done.
  • Served with cilantro or yogurt, if desired.
  • Author:

    Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

    2 thoughts on “Curried Chick Peas And Tofu With Bok Choy

    Leave a Reply

    