Posted in Uncategorized

My Favorite Childhood Movie

I loved Mary Poppins when I was a kid. I was particularly fond of the adventures Mary Poppins and the children had when they entered the fantasy worlds created by Bert's drawings. Then there was that fellow who loved to laugh and who rose to the ceiling every time he did!

And how about the opening scenes, with all the stern nannies who got blown away? I would have loved a nanny like Mary Poppins.

A spoonful of sugar, indeed! Mary Poppins was the best. Let's go fly a kite, shall we?

Powered by Plinky

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

11 thoughts on “My Favorite Childhood Movie

    1. Now that you mention it, I remember reading Mary Poppins and, yes, it was a bit disturbing. I think it may have been a reflection of the era in which it was written. People were more strict then. The movie was “softened” to appeal to kids today.

      1. I dunno. I thought it went beyond “strict” into “cruel” territory. Not Mary Poppins herself, so much, although she was not all that sweet and cuddly. But that evil old woman who was such a witch to her gigantic daughters was, frankly, abusive.

      2. It’s been a very long time since I read the book. Now you’ve got me curious to look at it again.

  1. You know I don’t think I have ever seen this movie in its entirety. I will half to rent it. An aunt of mine decided one day she was going to jump out of a window because her umbrella would keep her in the air. Luckily she was stopped just in time!

  2. Being a parent of two small children, I am slowly beginning to weary of this movie– you know how they can be, watching it over and over again. (And then there’s my wife, who sometimes amuses herself watching it again with dubs and subtitles in languages other than English…) And then there’s all those who keep quoting “Let’s Go Fly A Kite” in response to the kite pictures… nary a Christopher Cross “Ride Like The Wind” or “Sailing” or anything like that.

    I have yet to read the books. I do understand the setting is entirely different.

    1. Yes, the books are totally different. I understand the bit about having had enough of the movie. My sister- and brother-in-law have two kids and have the same reaction to “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!”

      1. They aren’t as different as the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang movie and book are. The only things that are the same there are the flying car and the names of the Caractacus Potts and the children.

Leave a Reply

