Posted in Uncategorized

The Most Romantic Thing Anyone's Ever Done For Me

This was a writing prompt. It made me think, and I came up with the following:

1968 Dodge Polara 500 Ambulance

Well, this is not going to sound very romantic, but it most certainly was an expression of love.

Before my husband and I got together as partners, we were old friends. I had some health problems in the early 1990s and ended up needing emergency room care. I didn't have a car in those days so was going to take a cab. Just at that moment, my husband-to-be called, to say hi and find out how I was doing. I told him.

The next thing I knew he was driving me to the hospital. He ended up staying until 2:00 in the morning. I finally came out, draped in a hospital gown, and told him he should go home. They were having a busy night and I was waiting around.

What I didn't realize at the time was that he was seeing somebody else. He didn't have to do a thing, but he cared about me. Basically, he dropped what he was doing to help me, and would have stayed all night if it were necessary.

He broke up with the other woman eventually. We ended up getting together and, eventually, getting married.

No. Not "romantic." But, very loving.

Powered by Plinky

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

10 thoughts on “The Most Romantic Thing Anyone's Ever Done For Me

      1. I started lurking at the time of the toilet crisis. Love your blog too. Mine has become more cartoony than it used to be. But I am finding the move to WP an energising thing.

      2. Same here. My plumbing adventures were the talk of the town – or maybe the world, given the reach of this blog!

Leave a Reply

