Posted in Food, Holidays, Recipes

It’s Cold, It’s Christmas and I’m In The Kitchen

So, the odyssey begins! I picked up some rather nice, and not cheap, ingredients for Christmas cookies. I’ll mail some home to the family and save the rest for friends in Boston.

I cheaped out on chocolate last year and paid for it in terms of taste. This year, in the middle of all the shopping, the hubby and I stopped into a place that carried Callebeaut chocolate. It’s from Belgium and is absolutely incredible in baked goods. I’ve got a chocolate-heavy cookie regimen coming up, so the best chocolate had to go into the shopping cart. It did!

I just finished a batch of peanut butter-chocolate chip cookies. The peanut butter came from Trader Joe’s and the chocolate…well, you know about the chocolate.

Start With Good Ingredients

I also splurged for a scoop, something that will lay out the cookie dough in equal, easy-to-release, dollops. It was just the thing! My cookie dough came out neat and equal:

Ready for Baking

The recipe calls for chocolate chips and whole, shelled peanuts, in addition to the peanut butter. It makes this an absolutely delectable cookie.

Pan Full of Yummy

Oh…here’s the recipe:

Peanut Butter-Chocolate Chip Cookies, from The Joy of Cooking Christmas Cookies (Irma Rombauer, Marion Rombauer Becker and Ethan Becker):

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper or greased aluminum foil. using an electric mixer, beat until light:

14 tbs (7 oz) unsalted butter, softened
2 cups (14 oz) white sugar
1/2 cup (4 oz) packed dark brown sugar

Beat in, one at a time:

3 large eggs

Mix in:

1 1/2 cups (16 oz) creamy peanut butter
3/4 tsp vanilla

Stir in until just combined:

2 1/4 cups (11.25 oz) all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Add and stir until mixed:

1 cup (5 oz) coarsely chopped bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate (I use Callebaut)
3/4 cup shelled, unsalted peanuts

Drop dough by teaspoon-full 3 inches apart onto baking sheets. Bake on middle oven rack for 15 – 20 minutes, until golden brown. Transfer sheets to wire racks to cool.

When you’re done, the cookies will look like this:

Cookie Monster's Dream

Think I made enough?

Do You Think I Made Enough?

Nom! Next we’re going to do chocolate-dipped coconut-almond macaroons. Stay tuned!

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

3 thoughts on “It’s Cold, It’s Christmas and I’m In The Kitchen

  1. I’m a chocoholic and would not dream of putting crappy chocolate in anything – of course it means that I never have a supply of “cooking” chocolate in the cupboard because I eat it! I once heard a cook say you should never put anything in a recipe that you wouldn’t eat on its own….

Leave a Reply

