Posted in Food, Recipes

The Mother of all Lamb Shanks

I made braised lamb shanks tonight, as I promised I would. The hubby did the shopping this weekend and came home with four shanks that are bigger than anything I’ve ever seen in my life. Normally, lamb shanks are smallish things with lots of bone and relatively little meat. That’s why, traditionally, I always make four. This time, no. Those guys were the size of Texas. It really looked like four mini legs of lamb. What is this world coming to?

Lamb Shanks
Attack of the Giant Lambs

It was all I could do to pick them up without using two hands. Oh well, they were still on for dinner or, perhaps, a dinner or two. I started by washing and trimming the lamb. Then I rubbed some garlic onto them and finished by rolling the shanks in flour seasoned with a bit of dried rosemary.

Garlic and Floured Lamb Shanks
Getting Closer to Dinner

I had some home made broth made with – you guessed it – lamb bones, so I used that for the braising liquid. The recipe called for 1 3/4 cups boiling stock, with 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/4 – 1/2 tsp black pepper and a half of a bay leaf. I also tossed in the garlic bits I’d used to rub the shanks, figuring they’d flavor the broth nicely. Lamb and garlic are natural partners, or so I think!

Home Made Broth
Lamb Broth for Braising

After that, it was a simple matter of browning the lamb shanks with a little bit of onion, then adding the boiling liquid after the lamb was ready. Man, that was a struggle. I have a big pan, but I could barely get the lid over the entire thing. I don’t get it with the monster lamb shanks. I love lamb but, really, I could have used a backhoe to get them into the pan.

Browning the Lamb
Monster Lamb in the Pan

After that, it was just a matter of time. I cut up some carrots to add during the last half-hour of cooking. I also added a half cup more broth and some more onion. I must say, it was delicious, even though we only ate one each. I love lamb, no matter what the size.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

2 thoughts on “The Mother of all Lamb Shanks

Leave a Reply

