Posted in A Bit of This, A Bit of That, Awwwwww!, Funny Stuff, Museums, Travel With Margy!

Letters of Note: I am only 6 but I think I can do this job

From the National Railway Museum in York:

In July of 2009, having heard that the director of the National Railway Museum in York, Andrew Scott, was soon to retire after 15 years at the helm, 6-year-old train enthusiast Sam Pointon sent the following letter to the museum in an attempt to fill Scott’s shoes and land his dream job.

Letters of Note: I am only 6 but I think I can do this job.

Mr. Scott is the Museum’s Director of Fun, as of 2009. Wish I were closer!

 

Mr. Director of Fun!

 

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

4 thoughts on “Letters of Note: I am only 6 but I think I can do this job

  1. Wow, he looks so absolutely happy and just bursting at the seams with pure and unadulterated sheer joy in that photo!

    What a great story. I love the little boy’s confidence and self-assurance in sending the museum a “job application” 🙂 What a plucky and gutsy young man he is! And I love the way that the museum reacted to his letter by appointing him to the position of “Director of Fun”.

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful story with us! 😀

    1. My pleasure. I very much enjoyed reading it. It was too good not to pass around. If wonder if the boy is still there? He was appointed in 2006, I think.

Leave a Reply

