Posted in Health

Namaste

I took a Yoga class this evening, the first in well over 10 years. I joined a local health club – hurray for me! – and decided to start small, with a little stretching and meditation.

Yoga is a physically beautiful practice. The poses are as elegant as they are good for you. I stretched my back, my feet, my thighs, hips, shoulders, hands and neck. Some of it was quite a workout for out-of-shape me, but even with that it was beautiful to watch in the mirror as we went from pose to pose – child, warrior, cobra, downward dog, cat, cow. The most beautiful for me are the sun poses (I think they’re called sun poses…). You inhale, bring your arms up over your head in a circle, then exhale and bring them back down again. It’s like welcoming the sun every time you do it. Even breathing is its own exercise and does wonders to calm both body as well as mind.

For all the beauty, I was pretty stiff and sore after the class. I have some stretching and strengthening to do, that’s for sure. And I’m downing ibuprofen a bit more than usual!

This Thursday will be the start of a month-long program of cardio-vascular and strength-building exercises. It’s called the “Mush to Muscle” program. I’m definitely on the “mush” end of the scale. I’m thinking ahead to long walks and bike rides this summer, though. I’m also looking forward to more energy and stamina, less muscle pain and stiffness and greater overall well being.

Hooray for me! I’m doing something good for myself…for a change!

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

8 thoughts on “Namaste

  1. Yoga is chicken soup for the body, really. Once the soreness passes and you get used to all the stretches, it is just bliss to do the various asanas.
    Of course, lazy bum that I am, I deny my body the bliss ! You have inspired me. Let me resume what used to be a daily ritual for me in my teens.

  2. Da iawn ti! (That means, good for you!) I’ve made a pact with the elliptical machine in the fitness room at work.

    It’s easy to get into a vicious spiral. You get stiff and hurty, so you don’t feel like moving, so you get weaker and more stiff and hurty and…

  3. Good for you Margy! I’m sure you’ll be feeling less sore in no time. Yoga has so many great benefits for body and mind. When I was doing yoga I definitely slept better, too.

  4. Well done Margy! I love the “mush to muscle” expression! I haven’t done any yoga classes for years but I still practise the breathing and relaxation techniques – they can really help me get to sleep if I’m feeling under pressure.

    1. I met with the owner of the health club I joined and he walked me through an appropriate exercise program. I’m really psyched1

Leave a Reply

