Posted in Nature

She’s Come and Now She’s Gone

I’m celebrating my first day back to “normal” after the hurricane. It’s so nice to return to predictability, knowing that the lights will go on and the computer boot up whenever I want them to. I ended up reliving the feelings I had during our plumbing fiasco last fall, particularly since only our street was affected by the power outage. I could walk around the corner to business-as-usual, realizing that I was the “odd man out,” the same as before. I tried to keep that in check, but it was difficult.

I remember laying in bed on Sunday night, feeling overwhelmed by the darkness. I wondered if people from pre-electric days would freak out at modern-day sights and sounds. I wanted my world back. Now that it is, I’m doubly grateful for it.

I pulled the camera and the video recorder out on Sunday, then stood outside as soon as it was safe to do so. It was wild – massive wind gusts, leaden skies and persistent, but now light, rain. There were broken tree limbs everywhere. Leaves were blown over sidewalks, yards and streets. Very unsettling.

Tree Limb
Tree Limb at Back of House

There was a massive limb down in our front yard, too, along with various other stormy images.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

4 thoughts on “She’s Come and Now She’s Gone

  1. I too, live in New England and happy that the storm is behind us. We have a generator for when the power goes out but it is amazing how much we depend on the Internet and TV to know what is happening and they were out. Happy that you didn’t have terrible damage. We were lucky as well.

    1. Yes, we were very lucky. Just look at what’s going on in southern Vermont! Glad to hear you’re up and running as well. By the way, I like your blog and will be following it!

Leave a Reply

