Posted in A Bit of This, A Bit of That, Blogging, Christmas, Friends, Hanukkah, Holidays

Safe and Sound

The presents have been opened. The food’s been prepared and then eaten. Even the leftovers are gone. The families have been telephoned or visited. We’re done for another year.

It was a nice Christmas and a nice Hanukkah, too. Went to a neighborhood Argentinian restaurant (of all places) for our Christmas Eve dinner. Had a lovely meal, then meandered back home to open presents. We videotaped the event for the folks back home, since I have a blog just for them. Then my husband’s side of the family came over on Christmas day and we were treated to fresh latkes (potato pancakes) by his mom, along with a wonderful roasted chicken and salad, made with ingredients from a gourmet food gift box my brother sent me.  More presents were exchanged – nothing huge and complicated. Overall, an enormous amount of fun on both days.

I hope you all had a lovely holiday, whichever one or ones you’ve celebrated. Have I ever mentioned how much I enjoy all of your blogs, by the way? I don’t always get a chance to respond, but I do read them all. It’s wonderful to have so many friends in so many places, not just here in the US but in Australia, India, Britain and elsewhere. I’m fortunate, indeed.

Here’s to friendship and to blogging!

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

4 thoughts on “Safe and Sound

    1. Thanks! Have a lovely 2012. If it’s not lovely, I hope it’s at least colorful enough to make it to your blog.

  1. Your Christmas sounds very pleasant. My daughter has a Greek boyfriend and they open their presents on Christmas Eve – though they do it at midnight. I missed leftovers this year as we had Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at different friend’s places – I’m sure my waistline is happier though 🙂 I also think it’s wonderful to be in touch with people all around the globe.

Leave a Reply

