Posted in Uncategorized

Interesting musings. My grandparents both suffered strokes when I was a kid. I have vivid memories of my grandmother’s loss of mobility and slow resumptions of daily activities

musicandstroke

As far back as I can remember, my mind has been filled with music. Like hip-hop loops, rhythmic fragments and melodic hooks recycle endlessly as I live my life.

For better or worse, our minds seem to function as perpetual motion machines.

For the better, the inner images we create become clearer and stronger every time we revisit them with mental focus. That, of course, is what we strive for when we practice music, study chess, or visualize the perfect tennis serve. By breaking down problems to their fundamentals, we lay a foundation upon which we can build upwards and outwards.

For the worse, the inner images we create are not always beneficial. Nonetheless, those too become clearer and stronger which each visitation. These are the intrusive loops that addicts and those afflicted with obsessive-compulsive disorder have so much trouble escaping.

Before the stroke, I thought my musical loops were…

View original post 298 more words

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

Leave a Reply

