Posted in Business, Food, Margy Tries to Exercise, Massachusetts

Now That’s A Sandwich!

Day two of exercise for the week – an hour’s walk from Arlington Center to Arlington Heights. It was a fairly mild day (for February) and I had some great music playing through my newly-found JVC headphones. I haven’t walked that way for quite some time and I’m glad that I’m able to do that again. I like watching things, especially the little, local shops that line Massachusetts Avenue. There are a lot of new ones and I enjoyed checking them out via their front window.

I came across a particularly pretty shop in Arlington Heights and just had to stop to see what was inside. It’s called The Savory Plate and they feed the world, or at least the part of it that comes in their door. All their food is home-made and fresh as can be. I walked in and immediately ran into a friend of mine there. Good sign! Two of the co-owners were there and we got to talking. It sounds to me like they really love what they do, which is good since they’re putting in long, long days at this early stage of their business.

I love chatting with people about their businesses, especially the ones who really love what they do. It’s a passion: I can see it in their eyes and in their faces. They’re exhausted, they’re putting out fires every day, and they love every minute of it. So, I decided to splurge and get myself a sandwich for dinner. The hubby won’t be home tonight until very late and I’m on my own for my evening meal. Why not let someone else make that dinner for me, for a change?

I got my sandwich and took the bus back home. Then I removed it from it’s silver foil wrap and – wow! – saw the following:

Sandwich
Now That's A Sandwich

Nom! If you live in Arlington, MA, go visit them on Massachusetts Avenue in the Heights.

The Savory Plate Website.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

7 thoughts on “Now That’s A Sandwich!

  1. Ooh! I know just the area you are referring to. I remember there being some really funky jewelry shops. That restaurant sounds great. It is really nice to see someone so passionate about their business, isn’t it? The owner of the gym I just joined is like that.

    I will have to let my sister know of your new restaurant find!

Leave a Reply

