Posted in A Bit of This, A Bit of That, Animation, Art, Computers, Music

Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight

I seem to be on a synth/animation/music kick and have been finding some really fascinating stuff. Okay, it’s interesting to me! Not only is the marriage of art and technology amazing in and of itself, but also what the original iteration subsequently has engendered. For example, a bunch of high school kids from the Solon High School marching band took a shot at “replaying” Pipe Dreams 1 and 2 on real instruments. I have a feeling that the music itself is a dub, but the physical playing behind it looks pretty darn real to me. I can vouch for the classic guitar player, since I studied that instrument in high school. He’s playing it alright.

Anyway, here’s the “original” Animation computer animation, which itself is a riff on the original tune (if that’s what you can call it. Yeah, I guess that’s what you can call it). Give a listen, and don’t be afraid to enlarge the video screen. This one’s high-def!

Okay, that’s fun. Now check out what these kids do with the music. This video is pure high school cornball, but you have to give the creators credit for all their mischief.

And you have to admit – the kid on the xylophone is really, really good! I think they recorded him doing the wooden xylophone (is that what’s it’s called?) and edited the video from there.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

10 thoughts on “Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight

  1. doing the wooden xylophone (is that what’s it’s called?)

    Nope. It’s called a marimba. The bars are usually made of a synthetic material now, since rosewood is very hard to come by. I remember a high school buddy telling me that the grand marimba the band department purchased at the time was about the cost of a small car.

    The other mallet instrument (with metallic bars), just in case you were wondering, is a vibraphone; the knob you see in the video controls the rate of vibration, if I remember right.

    I was a music student for a good number of years, if that explains my burst of know-it-all-ness there.

    1. Yes, it really amazes me. I love music of all kinds, although I’m not much of a composer myself. Thanks for sharing. Your blog looks really neat and I’m now following it!

    2. Oh wow, you have a really cool blog!

      I’m one of the writers at We Heart Music and a big fan of electronica and synthesizer music. Really like your latest post.

      1. thankyou very much, I’m hoping to keep it a mix of sharing my own music, thoughts on the overwhelming process of trying to sell it and also sharing other cool music and technology stories. Thanks for checking it out.

      2. oh hi– I was referring to his blog, but you already knew I thought your blog was cool, right? I really appreciate the shout-outs, Margy, and I’ve been excited to find someone new and cool to read, too.

        There is life after VOX, isn’t there? Good times 🙂

Leave a Reply

