Posted in Family, Health, Life

Labors of Love

I’m still in Buffalo, NY (actually, Kenmore) tending to my mom. The improvements are slow, but sure. She’s less tired and steadier on her feet. She wants to walk around more and look at different things. I have a table of house plants set up in front of her chair, which I water and prune. I also bought a New Zealand Impatiens plant for her to enjoy. It’s a large planter which could hang from a porch railing, although I might just transplant it to the garden once she’s able to sit outside. Right now it’s a bit cold, but will probably warm up throughout the week.

We’ve passed a major hurdle in that we’ve had Medicaid approve of the coverage my mother needs, that is, 24-7. We’ll have aides throughout the day and at night. Once that’s in place and settled, I’ll be able to go home. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping that I’m back with my husband in Arlington by the end of this month. We’ll see.

Working here is impossible. I get started then have to stop to do something. I have a laundry list of things to do and no opportunity to do them. Very frustrating. I feel much more sympathy for caregivers, now that I know what their life is like.

Here are the impatiens:

Flowers for Mom!

The flower pot is on the front porch. I bring it inside to show to her, especially as new buds open and bloom.

I’m exhausted and my back aches. I’ll be indulging in a massage tomorrow (Friday) and hope to rest up a bit over the weekend.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

2 thoughts on “Labors of Love

  1. My wife is going to be 65 this year and I keep telling her about falling and balance as she gets older and how important it is for her to be active and in good shape. Finally, after much openly voiced concern, (and those looks) she is having me move the clothes rack, er, treadmill, out of the bedroom and put it in the family room where she has much better access to it.

    I have also started talking with her about beginning yoga as well, for flexibility. With people living longer today they are facing problems like these, it was never really an issue for people even 20 years ago. I certainly hope that your Mother (literally) gets back on her feet soon. It’s one of the worst things about getting older, losing your mobility and freedom.

    1. You are so right, Kzinti. My mother has lost a great deal of her mobility and, with it, her independence. That’s tough, because she’s a very independent person by nature and it’s hard for her to remember at least some of her limits. That being said, she is recovering very quickly and I’m glad to see that. Of course, at 86 and very frail, there’s only so much “coming back” she can do.

      Thanks for your good wishes, and keep your wife strong and healthy!

Leave a Reply

