Posted in Art, Holidays, Massachusetts, Photography

Staycation No. 2: Rockport

Once we had our fill of Manchester-by-the-Sea, we moseyed on up to Rockport, at the tip of Cape Ann. It’s a famous (and very tourist-y) arts colony with plenty of galleries, boutiques, beaches and beautiful architecture.

We visit the north shore at least once every year and make sure we visit one shop in particular, the J. Lerch gallery on Bearskin Neck in Rockport. My husband and I love this guy’s photography. This year I got a very generous Visa gift card for my birthday from my father and my sister, so I decided to indulge a bit and buy myself one of his photographs. It’s a photo of an old-fashioned kitchen from Monhegan Island in Maine.

Kitchen by R. Lerch, Photographer

This photo is now on my table at home, waiting for an inspirational moment to hang it. Lovely. By the way, I nabbed this photo from the artist’s website, at http://www.rlerchgallery.com/index.html. Go visit and view his other photos.

We spent a lot of time just talking to the photographer, who also just happens to be a native of Buffalo, NY, my old stomping grounds. It was another treat in a day of treats – the chance to talk to the artist and find out what made him tick.

Rockport’s got some very pretty scenery: more coastline and cute little boats, along with tourist-clogged streets that nonetheless retain their charm and interest.

Pretty Boats!

And lots of galleries, along with ice cream shops, trinket shops and what-not.

La Tourista

We eventually went on our way, deciding that we (okay, I) was too hot and tired to do any more walking. We decided to forego Halibut Point State Park and just get on with dinner. For that we drove out to Essex and settled on a place called Periwinkles. It was my birthday dinner and we were both of the opinion that the meal should be a bit more upscale than a picnic bench at Woodman’s (not that Woodman’s is a bad place, mind you).

Time for Dinner!

We looked out over a cove with more boats. This time we actually got to see somebody take their boat out of the water. I find that very cool to watch. You back your boat trailer almost completely into the water, then get in the boat and drive it up onto the trailer.

And dinner? Well, fish of course, for me. What else, in the land of fish and fishermen?

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

One thought on “Staycation No. 2: Rockport

Leave a Reply

