Posted in A Bit of This, A Bit of That, Computers, Teaching

Bitchin’

It’s been a hell of a few weeks, with the start of a series of classes I’m teaching at our local Community Education center. I love helping people who aren’t web-savvy, so focus on ease of use and good design for any tool I teach. Last week I had a run-in with the school’s computers, which caused not a little frustration. Turns out the school upgraded its servers but didn’t get around to the community education accounts. Yikes! We muddled through anyway, and I even got a few kudos for good teaching. I was pretty surprised, given the problems, but quite happy nonetheless.

I’m also swapping around migraine and sleep medication. I’m not sure we’re quite there yet, at least with the sleep meds. My doctor gave me a completely new prescription for my migraines, a drug I’m taking on a daily basis (atenolol) rather than the as-needed fiorinal I was using before. The fiorinal was causing rebound headaches and I was a walking ball of misery after a while. So far, so good. I haven’t had anything worse than a mild headache since switching the medications.

Not quite there with the sleep medications. I need to talk to my doctor again and, to tell you the truth, I’m getting tired of schlepping back and forth to my doctors’s offices every couple days or week. Enough already.

I’m teaching again tonight, class number two of my four week series on easy websites. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping the computers cooperate this time. They really do have a mind of their own! For all that, though, I really love teaching. I’ve definitely found a comfy niche!

 

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

8 thoughts on “Bitchin’

    1. Yes, that medication switch made all the difference in the world. I’m also improving on a new regimen of sleep meds. And the course is fun – both for me, as well as the students.

  1. Migraines are hell. I hope you get out of them soon. Try not to drink too much coffee, I notice that the rebound headache is worse than the original migraine.
    Have fun with your teaching..

    1. Thanks, LG! I should cut back on the coffee, but I really love the stuff so it’s hard. Might help with the sleep too, although I try not to drink it after a certain hour

Leave a Reply

