Posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Writing

Halfway Down and Half to Go!

NaNoWriMo Logo
She’s a writing demon!

Just passed the 25,000 word mark, 10 days into the month. Only 25,000 left to write and I’ll meet the  mark! Writing every single day is hard work, but my internal editor has been shut off for the time being and I’m going for quantity over quality.  I can always go back and berate myself for writing a piece of crap (although I don’t think it is). But at least I’ll be able to apply the red pen to an entire novel, not odd chapters here and there that eventually get drowned below an avalanche of other things to do.

And here I thought writing a 50,000 word novel in a month was a stupid idea. In fact, it seems to be the only way I can do it, no matter what the word count.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

3 thoughts on “Halfway Down and Half to Go!

  1. That is so cool.
    I need to have a chat with you – how does this work? You already have the plot in your head when you begin, or do you just work the plot as you keep writing?
    I can’t imagine writing a novel.

    1. I usually work on a story line for a while before I start to write. At the very least I need a beginning, an end and a few events in the middle. From there it’s just a matter of pounding the keyboard.

      Actually, I use blogs to keep notes and character sketches for my writing. That way I can refer to it as/when needed.

      1. I can’t wait to read your novel, Margy. I am inspired, but am at a loss about where to start…perhaps reading your novel will give me direction.

Leave a Reply

