My Not So Humble Opinion

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: the next person who mentions Christmas before I taste turkey gets a kick in the jingle bells. It’s not that I’m a Grinch (although my sister, the Christmas Elf, will gladly tell you otherwise). It’s just that my ability to enjoy the Christmas season is inversely proportional to my level of exposure to it. Don’t get me wrong; we have our holiday traditions, and I love them all. The music, the food, the decorations; most of all I will never forget the look on my sister’s face the year I finally slipped the lump of coal into her stocking for a change. But I digress. The point is that these moments are beautiful because they are rare, they are fleeting, and thereby they are magical.

I remember when I was a kid (and I have never felt older than when I…

View original post 435 more words

4 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve had a long joke about Happy Hallowthankamas, because it’s not just Christmas– it’s Halloween and briefly Thanksgiving. It’s pretty much one holiday bloc, and those two (more so Halloween) tends to follow the Christmas retail front-loading. Cimmy sometimes asked, “What about Ramadan?” or “What about Hanukkah?” and I’d say, “Because national retailers don’t care about those holidays!”

    I like to take my holidays slow, and let things overlap past the specific date. So I’m not just irritated by radio stations starting Christmas carols in November. I’m irritated that several of the songs are generally about the winter season and NOT just Christmas, but BOOM, they disappear once Christmas is done. I also admit that I buy sugar skulls and Roscas Del Reyes at my favorite Mex grocery to stretch holiday sentiments out… although admittedly I pay little attention to their Catholic underpinnings.

    I would guess the reason why things persist is that much of us in the Western world still live in demand-based, service-oriented economies. Until things shift, we’ll still have “more bling-bling for less cha-ching!”

Leave a Reply

