And Then What Happens?

NaNoWriMo Logo
Rrrrrrrrawwwr!

I’ve been reading posts from other NaNoWriMo writers. Some are guilt-ridden because they haven’t been keeping up, others are egging themselves on despite fatigue and a general “I’m sick of this crap. I don’t want to do this anymore.”

Well, I’m in the “I don’t wanna do it” phase, along with a heaping portion of “What Do My Characters Do Now?” I’ve been reading some of the pep talks on the NaNoWriMo site and, apparently, I’m right on schedule with that feeling. According to them, the upside of this month will be a lot, lot easier.

So, I start with this idea for a novel. I have parts of plots already structured and I have some well thought-out characters. So far I’ve got them traveling here and there, but there are long stretches of how-do-I-get-from-here-to-there-and-in-what-order-does-this-all-happen? That has been difficult. And, at the same time I’m trying to fully figure out how they get from the beginning to the end, I have to keep narrative tensions and plot consistency going. Right now I’m plowing ahead and will get to the funky parts, the parts that are illogical and inconsistent, after I finish the writing.

So, I just churned out another 2,000+ words and pasted it onto the full story. My word count is over 36,000. I suspect I’ll get to 50,000 and more if I don’t drop dead first. That or Thanksgiving.

2 thoughts on “And Then What Happens?

  1. “Right now I’m plowing ahead and will get to the funky parts, the parts that are illogical and inconsistent, after I finish the writing.”

    Very good idea!

    1. Yes, very good idea. I’m amazed at how much I’m getting done. It’s the Type A in me – once I get a goal in my head I’m unstoppable (unless there’s chocolate involved).

Leave a Reply

