Posted in Uncategorized

Common Tragedies

Aram and I listened to an interfaith memorial service broadcast from Newtown, CT a few hours ago. I am horrified by what happened at Sandy Hook Elementary School and agree with the president that we cannot let this wanton slaughter continue. I first heard the news in the car as I was driving to an office supply store to get prices for a new office chair. I came in about halfway through the news broadcast and it wasn’t until later that I found out most of the victims were children.

It got worse from there. The gunman was using three legally-obtained guns, one of which was an assault weapon designed to fire hundreds of bullets every second. Then I learned that the children who were murdered were either six or seven years old. They all had multiple wounds and, in one case, a child had been shot 11 times.

I wanted to crawl away and die when I heard this. Children? Six or seven years old, along with their teachers and other responsible adults simply doing their job? A heavily-armed man – with weapons that are legal in this country – breaking into a first-grade classroom and mowing down its tiny occupants. 20 kids. That’s hideous.

We can do better. We must. I don’t think I can take any more deaths like this.

Memorial

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

2 thoughts on “Common Tragedies

  1. Thank you for your comments.

    I believe that the pen is mightier than the sword. Several bloggers are encouraging others to send cards and letters to the school. Here is the address:

    The school’s address is:
    Sandy Hook Elementary School
    12 Dickenson Drive
    Newtown, CT 06482

    God Bless.

  2. I tread carefully here, because anything that touches on power, belief, money, and human intimacy (any or all those categories) ALWAYS evokes deep emotions, and often generates conflict.

    I hesitate partly because I fear to be misunderstood. It’s been many years, but I still remember a Dutchman ranting and insisting on a BBS I used to be a part of I was some sort of power-hungry fool, simply because I admitted I had handled a firearm. (I was a security guard and was practicing at a shooting range.) Those that know me do not say these things. And I also know zealous gun enthusiasts (easily more zealous than I) who are gentle and kind to everyone that I can see.

    I hope you understand what I say when it appears I am a sort of “classical liberal”, with some moderate libertarian leanings, and I have carefully tested my perceptions many, many times. And I hope you understand when I say I think we will struggle to find answers when we don’t know all the questions.

    Pardon my rambling. I’ve trimmed quite a bit down, I hope I’ve been as succinct as I can.

Leave a Reply

