Posted in Gun Control

Demand It

Mayor, Councilmember Mills, Rep. Heard Call fo...
Mayor, Councilmember Mills, Rep. Heard Call for an End to Illegal Gun Sales (Photo credit: ProgressOhio)

I’m so glad people are finally starting to stand up to the gun lobby in the US. They’ve enjoyed their reign of terror long enough and I’m heartened to see some progress, starting with the president. I’m only sorry that it took the horrible deaths of little children to finally breach that wall.

Mayors Against Illegal Guns has taken a leading role in this effort, beginning with a petition to support the meaningful regulation of dangerous weapons. No one needs a semi-automatic rifle to go duck hunting, and the massive bullets from one can tear a person to shreds. No one’s “coming for your guns.” The exact opposite seems to have been true – the guns have been coming for us.

Great video below. If you’re in the US, please consider getting involved in this. I don’t think I could take another Sandy Hook. And, do you know there have been 900 or more gun-related deaths in the month since?

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

3 thoughts on “Demand It

  1. I’m sorry, Margy, but I feel I must speak out very strenously on this topic, and I need you to listen.

    I’m not a gun nut. I’m not even going to talk about guns at all. I don’t view the recent tragedies as a problem about guns… or rather, I think the issue is a rather fruitless one that polarizes society and never really yields what I’d say is meaningful progress.

    MENTAL HEALTH, Margy. I think it’s an issue of mental health in this country, and the sore lack of attention it gets. I think I’m qualified. I’ve been in the community mental health system for almost 30 years. I’ve been inpatient myself and talked to friends at great length who have more experience on the inside than I do. (There’s a reason why I had a lot of discussions with purplesque… thankfully, she gets it, and is trying to make a difference in the psych community.)

    The last time I mentioned handling a firearm in a controlled, responsible, supervised manner, I got some Dutchman raving that I was some sort of power-tripping megalomaniac. As if! This was at least 8 years ago, too. He wasn’t questioning my attitudes towards guns… he was questioning my sanity. Pity really as he didn’t even know me.

    I took careful notes with the Columbine, VT, and Batman midnight showing shootings. I did some very hard critical thinking with the Sandy Hook press, too. I’ll be honest, with the ones that made manifestos and rants… I did find things that I could relate to. I could understand where they were coming from. I felt their desperation. I recoiled in horror when I saw kids and adults say things ON RECORD that were despicable, IMHO, and proved in my mind they were somewhat worthy of the shooter’s ire. Jocks calling the shooters faggots? Yep, you bet, on the Columbine record. Spoiled rich girls demonizing the shooter with no thought for how much they were proving the stereotyped rant? Yep, on the VT press record.

    And then I stepped back and then recounted how my experience was different. I was bullied, shamed, and mercilessly teased as much as many of them, Margy. Somehow, I got help and I managed to take a different road, in spite of how broken the system was, how much I struggled– I haven’t really dealt with all the inner wounds until about a few years ago.

    So I refuse to kick back and pick sides on a debate that I think is totally missing the point, and is a HUGE distraction to what I think is the problem. I’m not going to sit idly by and say it doesn’t involve me or that I’ll express something that will curry me a little more favor. No, I’m going to speak out on what I think is just and fair, that we can ill afford to keep sweeping mental illness aside (thankfully not under the rug anymore) and certainly not on this issue. Yes, I’m male. Yes, I’m white. But I sure as hell ain’t straight, W.A.S.P. (I’m Anglo-Jute and on the fringe of Protestantism at best), and “neurotypical.” I want my voice to be heard. Sorry for the length, but I really felt I needed to make my point.

    1. I feel that a multi-pronged approach is necessary. Keep less dangerous guns in safer hands, deal with mental health issues at the same time. There have now been over 1,000 shooting deaths in the US since Sandy Hook.

      1. I don’t disagree, but in all the years over the incidents I mentioned… I don’t think we’ve made any real significant progress with mental health. It’s not being properly addressed at all and there is little to no discussion about it in the context of this issue. No, I’m not going to be satisfied with a “we’ll do gun control and mental health”… NO. Priorities are way screwed up and I find your statement to be rather dismissive on first glance.

        I’m no fan of the NRA but the gun control crowd hasn’t done all their homework, either. Criminal law is way overburdened with complexity and more laws are NOT going to help in the long run. They might feel good and satisfy the public but they usually wind up punishing those who were never really meant to be punished in the first place… and that goes into many other issues and topics, actually. I hate to say it but “outlaw guns, only outlaws will have guns” has more credence that I think a lot are willing to give credit for. It also doesn’t take into account the differences of rural, urban, suburban, and emerging populations. Their needs, perspectives, and circumstances are different… a one size fits all approach is NEVER going to work. I’m much more willing to believe the old coot out on the ranch that says a double-barreled shotgun is more lethal than some of these assault weapons than a city-dweller or a suburbanite who actually has no experience with firearms whatsoever.

        What I will say is that I am very disturbed about this idea of arming teachers. It’s completely inappropriate and I *was* trained as a teacher (as well as I had some experience as a security guard, as I said, and I did get a little firearms training). I don’t think teachers can be expected to have the same kind of maintenance training and discipline law enforcement and military have. It’s an expensive hobby to begin with and teachers are usually cash-strapped as it is. It’s not on par with home gun ownership, of course; while that’s a sticky situation of its own, defending your home is not the same scenario as a school, and of course the idiots that claimed private gunowners could have shot the cinema shooter are morons. Real experts have already said professionals have a hard enough time training for these scenarios and I expect them to say the same about school.

        No question I believe too that schools are not all on a level playing field and I could waste many inches going on about socioeconomic disparity and the effect it has on teaching styles, budgets, etc. The schools that probably need professional law support the most (and should be carefully studying George Thompson and Verbal Judo/Tactical Communication with their firearms training) are not likely the ones to get it, and indubitably live in the areas where police are already hard bitten and more likely to be feared than seen as helpful protectors.

        Then there’s my long, long rants about how the public school system is broken, period. There’s plenty we have not really gained enough progress on in decades… yes, I’ve been asking for the years I’m too young to remember.

Leave a Reply

