Posted in Arlington, Boston, Massachusetts

Half Mast

First: I am very grateful to those of you who contacted me to make sure I was safe. Thank you. It meant a great deal to me. My husband and I were nowhere near the marathon finish line and, as far as we know, no one we know was injured.  Arlington is really quiet today. People walked around looking as though they were in a dream. I’ve had trouble concentrating, but that’s getting better.

I decided to take a walk this afternoon. It’s beautiful out and I needed to clear my head. President Obama ordered all flags at half-mast and as I walked I saw them flying that way, one after the other.

half mast at town hall
Half Mast at Town Hall

I walked past the fire station just across from our street, then I passed the library (above), then Arlington Town Hall right next door. It was sombre and very painful, like Newtown all over again but closer. The youngest victim of this brutality was eight years old. His mother and sister are in the hospital with very serious injuries. The father is trying to hold it together. Folks, meet Martin Richard, who will not be with us any longer:

 

Martin Richard
Martin Richard. We all love you, son.

We had another loss, a woman who lived in Arlington (where my husband and I live. She was originally from Medford, right next door and worked at a local restaurant. Rest in peace, Krystle Campbell:

Krystle Campbell of Arlington, Massachusetts
Krystle Campbell of Arlington, Massachusetts

I’ve heard that at least 25 or 30 people have lost limbs and suffered severe head injuries.

Why?

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

One thought on “Half Mast

  1. Why indeed, Margy. We have to hope it’s insanity, as it is too horrible to think that any rational person would do such a thing.

Leave a Reply

