Pajama Sunday

English: Verso. Puzzle card. Find Santa Claus ...

Think of a very lazy day off, where you can do whatever you want to do – or don’t want to do. It’s especially helpful if you’re coming off of a busy and stressful time. I’m taking one today.

Pajama Sunday is my sister’s name for it. Nowhere to go, nothing to do. I’ll probably get around to doing laundry and a few other errands, then treat myself to a long, hot shower and a fresh pair of sheets at bedtime. In between I’ll catch up on some reading, download a few new audiobooks from the library and see when and where I have the energy to do anything else.

I’ve had a month of bad luck. The hubby got sick and stayed that way for three weeks, then I came down with it. I ended up flat on my back (for the most part) for almost two weeks, then among the walking wounded for the last. I’m still coughing up this and that and am pretty low on energy. I’ve got enough decongestants, antihistamines and prescription cough medications to start my own pharmacy. When I finally decided to drag myself to the doctor, she said I needed to take it easy and expect the cough to linger for a while. She was right in that diagnosis. I went out for a few hours to visit with the in-laws yesterday, go to a play and then out to dinner afterwards. I should have enjoyed it, but I really didn’t. All I wanted to do was crawl into bed, despite the fact that we hadn’t seen my husband’s folks in a while and I really missed them.

As if that weren’t bad enough, I also lost my footing about two weeks ago and fell in our basement, just as I was carrying a freshly washed and folded basket of laundry to the stairs. I don’t know what I did or how, but I went flying and landed hard on my right side and hand. My laundry went tumbling, along with my glasses, which flew right off my face. The fall took the wind out of me and I couldn’t get up at first. I kept falling back. I eventually recovered my glasses and my breath and slowly made my way up to  my feet. I don’t think anything’s broken, but I haven’t officially checked yet. Why? I’m really sick of dragging myself to the doctor or to the drug store. I don’t think my hand is broken (I’m typing, aren’t I?), but it’s still badly swollen and tender. Up until recently, it’s been difficult to bend over to tie my shoes because of the whacking I gave to the ribs and muscle tissue on my right side. I’ve been getting by on ice and ibuprofen. I may break down and go to the doc once again if the hand swelling doesn’t start going down by later this week.

It hasn’t been all bad, though. I’ve been working a rather nice part-time job at a church not far from where I live. They’re not the preachy type and I get no grief for not being religious myself. They need an office manager and internet guru and that’s what they’re getting. I’m still teaching two Community Education courses and will be adding a third course and a workshop this fall and winter. Other than health-wise, things are going quite well.

Part of pajama Sunday is letting me get back to blogging and other writing. It’s a little indulgence in the middle of banged-up body parts and other people’s schedules. Nice.

7 thoughts on “Pajama Sunday

  1. I’m having a hard enough time getting my own church to give me something to do… what’s your secret? 😉

    (Yeah, this pajama thing would have to be on another day for me, since I’m one of those freaky church-going types… at best, such days happen when I can’t get out of bed anyways.)

  2. Oh dear you have been in the wars. I think I need to share the cough syrup – still trying to shed my lungs too. I have had to postpone a birthday lunch with my sister (her birthday) as too ill to attend and not wishing to expose BIL to more germs.

  3. Hey, I stay offline for a few days and people are falling sick – you, FD….hmmm.
    Hope you are back on your feet now.

Leave a Reply

