Posted in Family, Food, Recipes

Polish Penicillin

image

Comfort food, polish style. Chicken soup the way my grandmother made it. Start with a nice soup chicken, one that has some flavor. Dump it into a pot and add a few quarts of water. Quarter a medium onion and add that to the pot. If you have some parsnips, you can add some of those too. Bring to a boil and let the mixture simmer for about 1 hour. While you’re waiting, peel and cut some carrots. I usually like large chunks. Now for the final touch: cabbage. Take a quarter cabbage and slice. I also like these on the large size.

After 1 hour, remove the chicken, the onions, and the parsnips. Toss in the carrots and return to a boil. Reduce heat and cook for 15 minutes. Now add the cabbage and cook for another 20 minutes. Debone and cut up the chicken while the carrots and cabbage are cooking. When the vegetables are cooked add the chicken along with salt and pepper, to taste.

I usually serve this over rice or noodles. If you’re feeling adventurous, you can make your own noodles, just like my grandmother did!

Enjoy!

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

6 thoughts on “Polish Penicillin

  1. Reminds me I’ve still got some leftover caldo de pollo in the fridge.

    Does this need parsnips in particular? With our rather warm/hot September, I’m thinking of trying to grow some root vegetables (spring and summer was weird) and mulching well so they don’t freeze. I don’t think I’ve got any parsnips ready to go, although we might still have root-type parsley seeds.

  2. I usually add whatever vegetables I have in the fridge – sliced tomato (not too many though), beans, peas, even a spoon of barley. I find that the more vegetables you add, the better the soup tastes.
    Don’t you add garlic? I add one pod of crushed garlic too.
    Yumm

  3. Margy, your soup reminds me of my family’s Lithuanian soup — often served with a boiled potato. It’s raining today –> I love soup weather.

Leave a Reply

