Well…It’s A Start

I got myself a tree over the weekend and finished trimming it earlier this evening. Even did a little bit of Christmas shopping, too. Something odd – I couldn’t bring myself to hang the ornaments I had bought here in Boston. I felt like taking the whole lot, chucking them into the trash and then going out and buying a whole new set of them. I didn’t, of course. But here’s the odd thing: I felt comforted when I hung the ornaments I’d grown up with. I took a few with me when I left for Boston and was expecting those to be the painful ones. They weren’t and now my tree is trimmed with (mostly) 50-year old Christmas ornaments. Go figure.

Christmas Tree
My Little Tree

5 thoughts on “Well…It’s A Start

  1. They weren’t and now my tree is trimmed with (mostly) 50-year old Christmas ornaments. Go figure.

    Maybe they were a source of comforting memories, rather than painful ones?

    We only have a tabletop tree, and roughly 3/4th of the ornaments are ones that have been passed down.

Leave a Reply

