Posted in A Bit of This, A Bit of That, Boston, Food, Home, Massachusetts, Seasons, Spring, Work

At Least It’s Not Snowing

It’s been a busy two days, relatively speaking. Yesterday the hubby and I shopped for vegetables and fruit at one of the area’s best places for produce: Russo’s. You can get any variety of veggie or fruit from around the world (Asia, India, the Caribbean, etc.). I’ve never seen some of the stuff they carry, but they do a great business.

Russo Produce
Saturday at Russo. Now imagine it twice at full of people and you’ll have a better idea of what this place is like.

I practically had to be carried back to the car the last time I went there. I was still sick and went through a half a box of Kleenex before I got back home. From there I went straight to bed. This time I was well enough to maneuver a shopping cart through jam-packed aisles and then get back out to the car in one piece. I even bought some flowers!

After the shopping trip we braved the darkening weather and decided to walk along the Charles River near Watertown. It was relatively warm yesterday, but started to get colder and cloudier as we walked. Still, it was really nice to get out of the damn house for a change and feel like a normal human being (also for a change).

We even went out to dinner after our walk. Waltham, MA has some fabulous Indian restaurants, one of our favorites being New Mother India. We warmed up over hot lamb curry and a cauliflower-yellow lentil dish. That was after we polished off a few pakoras and some garlic naan. Aahh, yes.

Food from New Mother India
Just the thing after a walk in the cold

Then today I finished updating my consulting website and finished up a bunch of other work stuff. Then I did another shop (yikes!) at our local supermarket. Among other things, I got a nice corned beef brisket for St. Patrick’s Day (not that I’m Irish or anything). Then I came home and crashed. The hubby is making dinner. I seem to be ready for a shower and bedtime.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

4 thoughts on “At Least It’s Not Snowing

  1. I got a nice corned beef brisket for St. Patrick’s Day (not that I’m Irish or anything).

    But you’re a New Englander, and corned beef brisket and cabbage (and maybe potatoes) is the Irish-American interpretation of the New England boiled dinner. So sayeth Christopher Kimball and other sources I trust.

Leave a Reply

