A Penny For My Thoughts

Image

I really like this Blogging 101 thing. It’s taking me back to the very beginning of things. Why did I start to blog? Good question.

First, I really like to write. I’ve kept journals since I was 14 and I still have those around somewhere. They were private musings by default, of course, but they kept me sane during some of my darkest days. It seemed only natural for me to start blogging once they came on the scene. These would be public musings, unlike my paper journals, and that changed my perspective, if not my voice. I had an audience!

I started blogging on Live Journal, back when it was a thing. I decided to start a “five senses” journal: sight, smell, sounds, touch, etc. It was a place for me to practice writing and it was hard work. I wrote about what I saw walking down a street in Boston, including my own reflection in mirrored skyscrapers. I saw the pavement, the sky, the people, the buildings.

I wrote another smell and touch-centered post following the death of a member of my extended family. Poles have a tradition of cooking a meal for the bereaved, so I took on that responsibility. I made a leg of lamb and brought everything to serve it with: food, platters, plates, the whole bit. I’m not sure what happened to those posts. They were good.

From Live Journal I moved to Vox and found a community more compatible with my age and interests. We all hung out for a long time until Vox decided to shut its doors and kick us all out. I ended up on WordPress, which I’d been using for other blogs anyway.

So, this is where I am and where I’ll stay.

4 thoughts on “A Penny For My Thoughts

Leave a Reply

