Posted in A Bit of This, A Bit of That, Blogging, Family, Food, Gardening, Life, Nature, Writing

About My About

Here I am, back to Blogging 101 at WordPress Blogging University. I’m following up on an earlier assignment: to re-write my “About” page. I had a lot of fun doing that and now I have to create a blog post based on the new “About” page.

Hmmm. What makes me me?

I wasn’t kidding when I said I was an older kinda’ lady. Your perspectives change with age. I think that’s why they say, “Life begins at 50.” I really didn’t feel that way, but I did become a lot less tolerant of asinine behavior in those young whippersnappers. I just don’t put up with bullshit anymore. I’m tired of it. I talk back (politely) if and when I need to. Why put up with that kind of stuff? Life’s too short.

I got my cooking and gardening ways from my mom and dad (no, really?). My father was the cook in the house and he didn’t let us near the kitchen. As a result, I never learned to cook until I left home. Once I did, though, I went all the way with it. My sister, too. I’m more into the Mediterranean diet type of foods and she’s a connoisseur of all things Eastern European. I sometimes worry that she’ll end up with a heart attack from the number those foods have got to be doing on her arteries.

I go for the simple stuff and let the ingredients talk for me. In fact, the hubby and I just signed up for a local farm-share. Once a week, fresh from the farm. Starting June 10. Be on the lookout for photos!

Both my parents liked to garden. My mother was forever trimming weeds sprucing up the yard. I remember following her around as she planted geraniums and scattered grass seed on the front and back lawns. Once it started to pour just after we’d finished the putting out the grass seed. I could see seeds starting to run in little rivulets down to the curb. I tried to stop them, standing out there in the rain and getting soaked myself. I made little dams of my arms. I was so furious. We’d just done all that work! It must have been pretty strange for anyone else to see.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

5 thoughts on “About My About

    1. There’s also a Blogging 201. I originally signed up for that, but liked what was going on in Blogging 101 so decided to stick with that.

      1. Yeah, the 101 material actually covers quite a lot. I didn’t finish all of the Zero to Hero stuff before WP said they were revamping things and I’m not sure what all the changes have been (just on the 101 stuff).

Leave a Reply

