Posted in Bouncing Tigger's Vegetarian Recipe Challenge, Food, Recipes

Meatless in May. Want to Help?

Well, okay. I just found a WordPress blogging challenge I can get my teeth into (literally as well as figuratively). Bouncing Tigger’s Vegetarian Recipe Challenge may just fit the bill. So far I’ve been doing pretty well, with no objections from the hubby and I’m looking forward to trying new recipes.

Cauliflower
My, What A Lot of Cauliflower You’ve Got!

So, first: here’s a recipe I put together for soup. Proportions are entirely optional, as are the number and type of veggies. The more veggies the merrier, including members of the broccoli family which often don’t play nice with the neighbors. I’ve done this soup with broccoli, cauliflower and Brussels sprouts. Cabbage would be fine, although I don’t think I’ve ever put cabbage in up until now. I’ll have to try it next time. Come to think of it, I don’t think bitter greens (kale, collards, etc.) would work in this soup.

I also add a handful of lentils and a can of beans of whatever kind. There’s your protein. I add some grains, too, like barley and quinoa. And, just to top it off, I also drop in a small amount of pasta towards the end.

I typically use soup stock for this soup. Sometimes it’s home-made, sometimes it’s from a can. How much? Enough to cover the veggies and still leave room for broth – and the inevitable expansion of the grains.

Here are the veggies I typically use:

Onions, garlic, carrots, green beans, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, corn, peas. I sometimes add tomato and mushrooms, although just small amounts of each. I start by sauteing the onions and garlic in olive oil, then add the other veggies until they’re glistening. Then I add the broth, stir it up, then stir in a handful of lentils, barley and/or quinoa and a can of beans. I’m partial to chick peas, but you can add whatever you want.

I usually use frozen corn and peas, so I want until the soup is almost done to add that plus the pasta. If I have any parsley, I’ll chop that up and add it, too.

Now, here’s your part – do you have any vegetarian recipes you’d like me to try? I like to take pictures and videos of what I’m doing, so I’d probably do that and post it here. Check out my new recipe collections page to let me know!

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

6 thoughts on “Meatless in May. Want to Help?

  1. including members of the broccoli family… I’ve done this soup with broccoli, cauliflower and Brussels sprouts

    Cabbage family, i.e. Brassica. Broccoli, cauliflower, and Brussels sprouts are all cabbage cultivars.

    Don’t have any recipes to contribute, currently– sorry. I don’t know if the fam and I could go meatless for an entire month, but we usually keep Tuesday nights open for veggie or fish dinners. So, I’d be interested to see what recipes you gather.

      1. No worries– cabbage and all its variants are truly amazing, aren’t they? There’s one called “sprouting broccoli” that looks more leafy and doesn’t have florets. I was told about it from an online friend in the UK– I have never seen it stateside.

      2. Yes, they’re amazing. Sprouting broccoli? I wonder if that’s broccoli rabe. It’s a bitter green member of the cabbage family.

      3. Did some checking- nope, rapini or broccoli raab/rabe is actually a turnip species (Brassica rapa), not related to the Italica group (Brassica oleracea) common broccoli is part of.

        I’ve never tried it– the only turnips I’ve ever had regularly were Swedes/rutabagas. Love it mashed at Thanksgiving 🙂

      4. Wow, how about that! I had no idea. Thanks for the information. I also like rutabaga.

Leave a Reply

