Unlock the Mind

So, from Blogging 101 to Writing 101. You’re in for it now! I joined this writing challenge to get my fiction muscles back in shape. I haven’t worked them out for quite some time. I joined in a NaNoWriMo challenge last November, but stopped when my mother passed away early that month. I really didn’t feel like doing any fiction writing until earlier this year, but got sucked into some life challenges that dropped me in my tracks. Now there’s another NaNo challenge in July and I’m going to try it again. In the meantime, I’m going to see what I can do during this challenge to prepare for that.

I have a book I’ve been trying to finish for years. I started it during the worst part of the recession, when both my husband and I were pretty much hung out to dry. I suddenly started thinking about two travelers in a ravaged countryside, two people who had lost some very significant things. One person, the female protagonist, lost her entire family and village and the other, the male protagonist, a soldier who was blinded in an attack. I set this up as a fantasy, set in some pre-industrial era. I started it, then stopped, then started, then stopped. I signed up for NaNoWriMo in 2012 and got my 50,000 words in, but the novel still wasn’t finished. Since that time I’ve written about another 2,000 words.

So, I’ll give Writing 101 a try – if you guys can stand it. I may also post chapters and plot synopses, to see what you guys think about it.

So, here we go again!

Leave a Reply

