Posted in Folk and Blues, Music

Surfin’ the 60s

I’ve become somewhat addicted to Amazon Prime Music. I know, I know, corporate monolith and all that, but I’ve been having fun with it.

I came of age in the 1960s and grew up listening to The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, the Kinks and all those guys. I had black light posters and at one point owned a fringed jacket with a matching head bank. Hey, I was a teeny-bopper. My sister and I had pictures of our favorite rock stars in our bedroom, much like the teens of today. No iPhone, though. No email and no blogs, either. But the Rolling Stones? Yeah, man.

picture of band Steeleye Span
Folk-rockin Steeleye Span. Groovy, man. Good thing Maddy Prior and Martin Carthy are in there.

Then the 1970s rolled around and I discovered British and Irish traditional folk music. I’ve been on that train ever since, although I don’t listen as much as I used to. These days I’m groovin’ to African blues and up-to-date, ever-so-slightly rocked up folk. I have a limited tolerance for loud electric guitars, but some of those guys were something else. Not so much a problem with the British folk, unless you count Steeleye Span and their ilk. I’m willing to put up with the electric guitars and drums just as long as I can hear Maddy Prior above it all.

So, I’ve spent the afternoon and evening revisiting old music and feeling my heart go pitter-patter. The rock music is probably preserved, but a lot of the great folk artists have a lot of vinyl that never got transferred to anything else. Take Nic Jones for example. Nic who? He was a brilliant guitarist and fiddle player who got slammed by a truck in the early 1980s. He survived, but his bones and brain had the worst of it. He’s still around, just not performing. I was crushed when I heard that.

Nic has some other stuff that has stood the test of time and is still available (and yeah, it’s gory and bloody, but that’s the genre for you). But, you have to be a real folkie like me. Otherwise, you’ll probably just be bored (sigh).

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

Leave a Reply

