Mindful Me

I’m not sure this qualifies as a new year’s resolution, but I’m making a concerted effort to work in more time for meditation. The stress in my life being what it is, I figure it can’t do me any harm. In fact, it stands to do me some serious good.

I joined a telephone wellness group through my health care provider. We’ve all got our healthy resolutions (lose weight, exercise me, find more “me” time, etc.). My goal was greater relief from stress.

I’m starting with mindfulness meditation, which is a lot harder than it sounds. Basically, you clear your mind and concentrate on your breathing for a period of time. I can make it through about five minutes before I start to go crazy. It’s a discipline. Right now I’m aiming for two times a day, up to 10 minutes per session. I’m not there yet, but I am trying.

So, anyone know any websites that have morning meditations, something to get you going rather than calm you down into a stupor? I welcome any and all suggestions!

One thought on “Mindful Me

Leave a Reply

