Margy Does Meatless Monday

i just finished reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma and spent yesterday learning a whole lot more than I wanted to about factory farming. I’m familiar with these types of farms and the misery and pollution that accompany them but this was my first review with that book in the back of my mind. 

We don’t really “see” the meat we eat anymore. Sanitized and shrink-wrapped cuts line the back of my grocery store and you don’t think about the pig, cow or chicken who was raised for your dinner. Don’t get me wrong. I eat and like meat. However, I also realize that I have more of a choice theses days when it comes to the source of those tasty dishes. You can kill a pig for its meat, but you don’t have to raise it in a tiny cage and throw or kick it around while its growing up. I don’t have to buy a truckload of antibiotics along with my burger. I don’t have to participate in a system filled with deliberate genetic manipulation (chickens bred with breasts so big they can’t walk), filth, disease and suffering. We don’t have to eat that way.

So, I’m giving Meatless Monday a try. We will have chicken for dinner tomorrow night, then indulge in some nice spring veggies tomorrow. It’s not much, I know, but it’s something and I can live with that.

Leave a Reply

