Posted in House, Kitchen

No Fingernails Left

I’m starting to (metaphorically) bite them down to the quick. We started working on our long-overdue kitchen renovation on Saturday, with trips to a cabinet and counter top store. Our contractor has worked with one of their designers for seven years and highly recommended her.

Do you know how many colors and styles a cabinet or drawer comes in? I wasn’t sure where to start. Then we looked at counter top options: Corian, man-made quartz and granite. Lots of colors, lots of finishes. I have a few blonde wood panel samples at home and have no idea whether or not I like them. Do I now go get two more in the next shade and the next shade darker? I don’t even want to think about the damned counter tops.

old stove
Time For an Upgrade

But – wait! – that’s not all. After our trip to the cabinet and counter store we went to an appliance store to look for stoves, microwaves and dishwashers we could afford. The salesman, a very nice fellow, started his tour at the highest end appliances. Of course.  Average price in this aisle ranged from $2500 to $3000. We both gulped and I asked the salesman if we could see the middle class section. We saw a few stoves that would work, all bumping up against $1000, but hey.

The salesman then took us to see microwaves and dishwashers. Pricey, but do-able. We wanted a combination of affordability and durability. I don’t think they offer that option anymore. We walked out with a quote for a Frigidaire free standing stainless steel gas stove, a Kitchenaid 6 cycle dishwasher, another Frigidaire over-the-range microwave and (I forgot to add) two options for sinks, double-bowl or single bowl. Oh yes, and a dispose-all for the sink. They threw in some absolutely outrageous other options like $50 strainer baskets for the kitchen drain.

But, we weren’t done! Next we went to a big box store (Home Depot) to check out their appliances. I don’t know what it is about that store, but it makes me feel like crawling out of my skin after five minutes. Maybe it’s the lighting, or the heat. All I know is that I REALLY wanted to go home after a painstaking perusal of similar appliances. The hubby took some incredibly detailed notes on the ranges we were looking at and I was able to do a side-by-side comparison for one item. Big box came out cheaper, but the appliance store felt more trustworthy.

stove and over
All That Money For Five Burners? Well, It IS Pretty.

There’s one more appliance store the hubby wants to visit and I’m seriously thinking about saying no. We still have to find flooring and windows. We haven’t even started that.

new kitchen
We’ll Take This One Please

But, for all that, I’m kind of starting to get into it. I just don’t want to spend an eternity tramping from dealer to dealer to dealer trying to find the right combination of price and design.

At least I have a floor plan.

Author:

Writer, Walker, Entrepreneur, baby-boomer

2 thoughts on “No Fingernails Left

  1. Wow, what a lot of work! Best of luck with all your decisions. Just remember to breathe!

    I know it’s not super-helpful, but I’ve found oftentimes the appliance stores will match or beat competitors’ offers (including big box stores), sometimes they’ll even throw in “extras” to make up for delivery charges. They know they’re in a rough spot and would rather get a low margin sale than no sale at all…

Leave a Reply

